Remembering 9/11

Today was a travel day as I flew to New Jersey for a client engagement this week.  When I first realized I would be flying to the New York area on 9/11, I had a nervous chill as you remember the events of this day 4 years ago. 
 
I still remember vividly hearing the news of the terrorist attacks on the car radio as I drove into work.  Upon arriving it was all about watching things unfold on a tv in the office and then via the Internet.  Later that morning I spoke with friends in NYC who were ok, but described the frantic search for a good friend of theirs who was believed to be in the WTC.  I had met this woman a couple of times before and was heartbroken to hear that she perished along with thousands of others in this horrific tragedy.
 
On final approach to Newark we looked out the window to see the NYC skyline all lite up in remembrance.  The WTC site was glowing down below and 2 red, White and blue planes flew circles around the location. 
 
Of all the evenings to fly into the NYC , 9/11 turned out to be a memorable time to reflect on our lives and the events that have transpired over the last 4 years.
Leave a Reply

