Home Sweet Home

Well I made it home from Canada in one piece today.  Overall it was a good trip and successful from both my perspective and the clients.  I must say, I’m glad to be home and the four days away from the family seemed long this time, especially after the long weekend away from Ben. 

One of the highlights from the trip is my little adventure on Wednesday night.  When in Canada, do as the Canadians do…take in a little Hockey!!!  I caught the train (about the only time I went outside and it was COLD -14C) and took in a Calgary Hitmen game (Western Hockey Conference).  They dominated the Moose Jaw Warriors 5-1 and I’ll post a few pictures from my camera phone later. 

I must say, even though we were in the home of the Calgary Flames and everyone is bitter over the NHL "no hockey" season, there were a ton of people out getting their hockey fix and the quality of play wasn’t that bad.

I took the opportunity to pick up a little gift for Ben at the game.  One thing I have a very clear recollection of growing up is that when my dad went away on business trips (which was quite a bit) he always brought me back something like a t-shirt or unique trinket from the place he visited.  It was something I always looked forward to and had quite a collection.  Well, Ben is now dialed in and was looking forward to his present as soon as I walked in the door.  I brought home Ben’s first hockey stick  with a couple of miniture foam hockey pucks to start his practice.  He loved them and just like his dad, wasted little time in developing his slapshot across the wooden floors.  Now we just have to work on the high sticking thing a little bit more!!

It was great to see the family and I look forward to staying home for a few days.

Leave a Reply

